Main Page | | English News | Reviews | Forum | US Price List | Facebook | History | Contact | Privacy | Site Map


Custom Search


Go Back   OCWorkbench Lifestyle and Tech Forums, OCBC 360, Bonus$aver, Forex > PC Problems, Mainboard and Graphics card troubleshooting > EVGA, Supox, EPoX support forum

EVGA, Supox, EPoX support forum eVGA, SUPoX mainboard

Click here to resend forum activation email
Lost your password, Request it here


how to use large HD (>137GB) on old MB?

EVGA, Supox, EPoX support forum


Reply
Add this thread to:  Submit to Clesto Clesto  Submit to Digg Digg  Submit to Reddit Reddit  Submit to Furl Furl  Submit to Del.icio.us Del.icio.us  Submit to Spurl Spurl
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-11-2007, 06:17 AM
Patrickda Patrickda is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 19
Potenza rep: 0
Patrickda is on a distinguished road
Default how to use large HD (>137GB) on old MB?

Hello,
My motherboard stopped working (Epox 8RDA+, has bad caps...), so I've put some old pieces together to get on the Internet.
Now I have finally got everything working but I would like to connect a large HD (WD Caviar 160 GB) but the BIOS cannot handle it (137 GB limit?).
The MB is a Epox EP-58MVP3C-M and it does not even pass the BIOS-checks, it displays only the correct HD type (name, type, etc...), no details about size, heads, sectors, etc..., and then it hangs with a message "cache too big" or something like that (I cannot see the whole phrase, the image is not at the middle of the screen and to see everything I should use another one).
I have tried the settings "auto", "LBA" and "large", but none of them works.
No trouble with less bigger HD's (2,1GB, 6,5GB and 30GB no problem).
Does someone know how to get beyond the 137 GB and get that HD working?
Patrick
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-11-2007, 04:08 PM
alipik alipik is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Egypt
Posts: 836
Potenza rep: 8
alipik is on a distinguished road
Default

maybe u need a bios flash for ur mobo, or u buy an ide to pci card that bypass this bios hinder
Reply With Quote
OCWorkbench
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


(C) Copyright OCWORKBENCH 1998-2014
All times are GMT +8. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Copyright OCWORKBENCH 1998-2014 Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia, China, Taiwan, USA, UK